When to use Array and when to use List

Sorry I have zero experience on collections.
In python, most time we operate with list, unless you were using Numpy where has array existing.
In ruby, AFAIK array and list are the same stuff.

ruby:
irb(main):031:0> x=[1,2,3]
=> [1, 2, 3]
irb(main):032:0> y=["a","b","c"]
=> ["a", "b", "c"]
irb(main):033:0> x.class
=> Array
irb(main):034:0> y.class
=> Array

python:
>>> x=["a","b","c"]
>>> y=[1,2,3]
>>> x.__class__
<type 'list'>
>>> y.__class__
<type 'list'>

scala:
scala> val x = List("a","b","c")
val x: List[String] = List(a, b, c)

scala> val y = Array(1,2,3)
val y: Array[Int] = Array(1, 2, 3)

scala> val x = List("a",1)
val x: List[Any] = List(a, 1)

scala> val y = Array("a",1)
val y: Array[Any] = Array(a, 1)

So I am confused on this. When should I use an array object, and when should I use the list?

Thank you.

Never use Array unless you need it for Java interop, or unless you are writing very-high-performance code and you are absolutely convinced that the only way to make it fast enough is to use Array.

Array never appears at all in normal Scala code.

You should prefer to use immutable collections such as List. But even if you decide you need a mutable collection, Array isn’t the first one you reach for. Because it comes directly from the JVM, it isn’t a proper Scala collection and as a result, has multiple peculiarities.

7 Likes

Array

Never
Well, if you need to optimize the performance of some function and you know how to properly use an array to do that then go ahead. But other than such a niche case you should never use Array, they are mutable, invariant, don’t have a proper toString, their equals is by reference instead of by-value, they are not real collections but a primitive of the JVM / JS / LLVM runtime.

List

While learning can be a good default collection. Other collections like Vector or just using abstract Seq may be good options while learning.