UnsupportedOperationException: empty.max

Dear All
Excuse me if this question is not a good one. I am new to scala
I am having the error :UnsupportedOperationException: empty.max. I must have empty arrays as a result of a test. And according to my purpose, I will have many of these empty arrays.
Would you kindly help me solve this issue? My whole thesis depends on this.

Thanks

Well, don’t call max on an empty collection.

val max = if (list.nonEmpty) Some(list.max) else None

Or if you want to have some fun:

scala> :paste
// Entering paste mode (ctrl-D to finish)

import scala.collection.GenTraversableOnce

implicit class SafeMaxSyntax[T, A](t: T)(implicit ev: T => GenTraversableOnce[A], ord: Ordering[A]) {
  def safeMax: Option[A] = {
    val coll = ev(t)
    if (coll.nonEmpty) Some(coll.max) else None
  }
}

// Exiting paste mode, now interpreting.

import scala.collection.GenTraversableOnce
defined class SafeMaxSyntax

scala> Array(1,2,3).safeMax
res3: Option[Int] = Some(3)

scala> Array[Int]().safeMax
res4: Option[Int] = None

scala> List[Int]().safeMax
res5: Option[Int] = None

scala> "Hello World".safeMax
res6: Option[Char] = Some(r)
1 Like

Excuse me if this is not an acceptable question but, What is the result of empty.max? Is it a zero? a Nan?
This is the code, but if I put None as the result, it cannot make “<=” on the same val. No?

val maxCategoriesPerFeature = numBins.values.max
          val maxCategory = numBins.find(_._2 == maxCategoriesPerFeature).get._1
          require(maxCategoriesPerFeature <= maxPossibleBins,
            s"FuzzyDecisionTree requires maxBins (= $maxPossibleBins) to be at least as large as the " +
            s"number of values in feature, when split is set to binary, but feature $maxCategory " +
            s"has $maxCategoriesPerFeature values. Considering remove this and other " +
            s"features with a large number of values, or add more training examples.\n" +