Type parameter not working

Hi,
I’m new to using Scala and am trying to see if a list contains any objects of a certain type.

When I make a method to do this, I get the following results:

var l = List("Some string", 3)
def containsType[T] = l.exists(_.isInstanceOf[T])
containsType[Boolean]   // val res0: Boolean = true
l.exists(_.isInstanceOf[Boolean])   // val res1: Boolean = false

Could someone please help me understand why my method doesn’t return the same results as the expression on the last line?

Thank you,
Johan

Probably related to type erasure.
In any case, methods like containsType and things like List[Any] are, usually, a result of a bad design- And may not work as expected due to things like type erasure, isInstanceOf check classes, not types; they are different things (and types do not longer exist at runtime which is when this check will be executed)

Can I ask, what is the meta-problem you are trying to solve?
Or are you simply playing with code?
Or maybe you come from a dynamic background like Python or JS?

Hi Balmung,

I come from developing game in Godot with GDscript (it’s like Python) and making games in Unity with C# (long time ago).

I’m trying to make a small game engine using Scala. In the program I have a class GameObjects that contains a list of GameObjectComponent instances that the game engine wil use for things like physics simulation (e.g. if a game object has a Rigidbody component the Physics engine will process that game object). Here’s what GameObject looks like:

import GameEnjin.Geometry.Vector2

class GameObject(var name: String) {
  var position: Vector2 = Vector2(0, 0)
  var components: List[GameObjectComponent] = List.empty

def addComponent(c: GameObjectComponent) = components = components :+ c
  def hasComponent[T <: GameObjectComponent]: Boolean = components.exists(_.isInstanceOf[T])
  def getComponent[T <: GameObjectComponent]: T =
    val r = getComponents[T]
    r.head