Type-level vs. Value-level Programming

First of all a foreword about my background: I’m not a Computer Scientist, nor a Programmer, but, by trade, a Commercial Pilot. I took interest in programming 37 years ago, when I had to develop very basic CFD programs in Pascal, so, when it comes to programming, I’m a layman. This is to say: please bear with me, if my question is a little “dumb”.
My understanding is that Type-level programming, Category concepts, Generics as in Shapeless, and so on are a more efficient way of writing programs, as compared to classical value-level programming.
Now are these paradigms also more, or equally, or, finally, less efficacious (i.e., faster, equally, or less fast) than a classical way of programming, especially when it comes to maths? Which, at the end, amounts to asking: should I invest time and resources in learning all this stuff, or I’d better stick to the “old” way and just avail of the promises of GraalVM and its polyglot capability, apparently allowing me to access libraries such as FeniCS, considering that my main goal in programming is “to crunch numbers”?
Y’all have a lovely day.

1 Like

It is more efficient in the sense, that you can write more generic, i.e. more reusable code. Also it helps with having the compiler check more of the correctness of the program. It doesn’t directly have any relation to performance, as type level programming runs mostly during compile time. Of course using abstractions can have a runtime impact, but that depends on the concrete case.

If your main interest is in performance for number crunching, then I’d say type-level programming isn’t really relevant. Depending on what kind of number crunching you want to do, there are also Scala libraries which wrap native code, e.g. Breeze, a linear algebra library that can use various calculation libraries under the hood. I have no experience with GraalVM, but if it allows the use of native libraries, it’s probably also a good bet.

3 Likes