Tuple as argument vs multiple arity

As a beginner Scala programmer I often get confused by argument destructuring. Can someone comment on the best way write a unary lambda function for which I want to destructure the argument. For example. If I want an argument which is a list of lists. ((a:Int, b:Int) (c:Int, d:Int)). That is, a function of one argument, but for which I want to access the restructured components into four variables. Whenever I do this I end up having to fill my code with type declarations which usually exceed the interesting code in the function. Or I often end up writing a helper function, convincing the compiler to be happy with that, then using the function name as an argument to map/flatMap/fold etc…

Here is what I’d like to write, but it is unfortunately :frowning: not correct Scala syntax.
obj.map(((a:Int, b:Int) (c:Int, d:Int))=>(a+b,c+d))

(I may have asked the same question on other forums, but I’m re-asking it here, for searchability reasons and for the benefit of future generations)

You have to use the match case syntax when you want to destructure the argument of a function.
If I understood your example correctly:

scala> val obj =  List(((1,2),(3,4)))
obj: List[((Int, Int), (Int, Int))] = List(((1,2),(3,4)))

scala> obj.map{ case ((a, b), (c, d)) => (a+b, c+d) }
res2: List[(Int, Int)] = List((3,7))

Mind the case and the { }. Scala requires curly braces when writing function literals with case.
That’s actually how you write Partial Functions.

1 Like

Thanks, the case syntax seems indeed to help.
Here is an image from the online Coursera Scala course. Is this a syntax error? The slide follows the case by “:” rather than “=>”. Is it an alternative syntax? Or does it have different semantics?

As far as I can see it does look like a typo.

(By the way I think mapValues is lazy, so it’s not strictly the same as calling map.)
Edit: oh wait, this is Spark. Then ignore what I said about mapValues.

1 Like