[SOLVED] Checking for `null`

Coming from Java and being a paranoid developer, I do parameter checks for null in all non-private methods, but in Scala I hardly see those checks.

Is checking for null in Scala part of defensive programming or just not idiomatic and should be omitted?

As a Scala developer you may safely assume null doesn’t exist, if you have an optional parameter you will use Option.

The only moment you need yo care about null is when interacting with a Java library, in such case immediately wrap in Options everything that may be nullable, so you can again forget about that.

In any Scala code if you ask for some type, e.g. String, you are free to assume it won’t be null ever.
And if someone passes a null and the code breaks is their fault, not yours; using null in Scala is a bad practice and whoever follows bad practices is expecting to have a bad time.

TL;DR;
Yeah, do not check for null unless you are interacting with Java.

6 Likes

If you are unsure about a value you could always wrap it up with an option.

val someValue = SomeExternalSource.someValue
Option(someValue).map(..do something with the value..)

Then you could relegate to the caller of your function the job of finding out whether the value was actually null or not.

You meant wrapping in Option instead of Some. Because passing a null to a Some returns a Some(null)

3 Likes

@dubaut Here is how Daniel Westheide puts it in his book Scala from Scratch:

While it’s possible to use null in Scala, it’s strongly discouraged and would take everyone who uses your code by surprise, because the language provides a much safer alternative - and apart from being safer, it’s also much more pleasant to use: Option, a generic data type that serves as a wrapper for possibly absent values.
…