short question for a beginner

greetings to all! I am a beginner in scala and I have a small question, I have to realize a very simple exercise but I have a problem with my loop while, the goal of the exercise is to return the first digit of a number for example for “526” the program must return “5”, since I come from java I do not understand everything, my program works very well in java but not in scala :

def first(n: Int): Int= {
while(n>=10){
n/10
}
n

}

Hello, and welcome!

In both Java and Scala, just saying n / 10 performs the division and then discards the result. In either language, you must write n = n / 10 to actually change the value of n.

However: in Scala, method parameters are vals and cannot be reassigned. So you’ll either need to add a var to your program, or consider taking a different, more functional approach that doesn’t involve mutation at all; for example, using recursion.

By the way, if you ask another question, please use Markdown syntax so your code is indented. This bit of code was so short I could read it easily anyway, but any longer sample you post ought to be indented properly, to make it easy for others to help you.

2 Likes

There are many answers. The simplest and most obvious is the closest to “wrong way to do it in Scala”:

def first(n: Int): Int = {
  var eventualResult = n
  while (eventualResult >= 10) {
    eventualResult = eventualResult / 10
  }
 eventualResult 
}

Without more surrounding context for why this function exists, the most “correct” answer is to explicitly replace the while loop with recursion which ought to look something like this:

@scala.annotation.tailrec
  def recursive(eventualResult: Int = n): Int =
    if (eventualResult < 10)
      eventualResult
    else
      recursive(eventualResult / 10)

recursive()
}

In the more general case, you should use a pre-existing iterator.

Said in the most general way, using while in Scala is almost ALWAYS a code smell.

1 Like