Scala development on Windows

I have a nice opportunity which I’d like some advice about.

I have the opportunity to teach a 2-week programming course to gifted high school students in Mississippi (the US state where I grew up) (13 to 16 year old students probably from poor families). I applied for this position with a proposal to teach functional programming using Scala.

They accepted my proposal, but (unfortunately for me) the IT infrastructure will be an all-Windows platform. I have no experience doing software development in MS-Windows.

I plan to use IntelliJ and share code using GitHub.

Are there special things I have to do using IntelliJ from Windows that are different from Linux and MacOS?

For example, does the concept of USER work the same? Installing ssh keys to avoid typing passwords 1000s of times? What about Windows funny end-of-line weirdness? What about git push/pull/confict-resolution using IntelliJ? I usually disable all git-interaction from IntelliJ as I use other unix based tools. Are there other gotchas that I need to inform myself about before facing the students unprepared?

1 Like

Good luck with using windows to develop something.

IntellIJ should be enough for compiling and running the code, but not sure about all the other things.

You may want to ask if you can use the WSL, that is what I use at work (with vscode + metals).
If you can’t, you may want to use git-bash for windows.

Hi Jimka,

I have been using Eclipse, Intellij, SBT and git on a Windows server vm for about a year and it works fine.
We always install Cygwin. If it’s on the path you can run ssh, df, etc from the Powershell prompt.
Powershell also has a lot of aliases named after the Linux equivalent, like ls.

btw: I grew up in Grenada MS.

Steve

2 Likes

I think you just need to install https://git-scm.com/downloads and https://www.jetbrains.com/idea/download/download-thanks.html?platform=windows&code=IIC