Required: scala.collection.GenTraversableOnce[?]

I’m a new scala developer kind of bogged down with a type problem. Sometimes I’m still tripped up by handling futures, and I think this is one of those times. This section of code…

// do some stuff with a collection of List[Future[ClientArticle]]
Future.sequence(listFutureClonedArticles).map( clonedArticles =>
	for {
		// create persistent records of the cloned client articles, and discard the response
		_ <- clonedArticles.map(clonedArticle => clientArticleDAO.create(clonedArticle))

// add cloned articles to a batch of articles, and discard the response
		_ <- batchDAO.addArticlesToExistingBatch(destinationBatch._id, clonedArticles.map(_._id))

} yield {

// ultimately just return the cloned articles
		clonedArticles
	}
)

… is producing this compiler error:

[error] /.../app/services/BatchServiceAPI.scala:442: type mismatch;
[error]  found   : scala.concurrent.Future[List[model.ClientArticle]]
[error]  required: scala.collection.GenTraversableOnce[?]
[error] 							_ <- batchDAO.addArticlesToExistingBatch(destinationBatch._id, clonedArticles.map(_._id))
[error] 							  ^

The arguments to addArticlesToExistingBatch() appear to be the correct type for the method signature:

/** Adds a list of id's to a batch by it's database ID. */
def addArticlesToExistingBatch(batchId: ID, articleIds: List[ID])(implicit ec: ExecutionContext): Future[Return]

Of course, I might be misunderstanding how a for comprehension works too. I don’t understand how an error can occur at the <- operator, nor how/why there would be type expectations at that point.

Can anyone help me understand what needs to be done here?

The key thing is that, in a for comprehension, all of the types on the right-hand side of the arrows have to be the same, and if I’m understanding it correctly, that’s not the case here.

clonedArticles is a List[ClientArticle]. So when you call

clonedArticles.map(clonedArticle => clientArticleDAO.create(clonedArticle))