Published Version 0.2.2 of the Mill Build Tool

Lots of polish & bugfixes in this release to make your Scala builds faster and smoother. Also ported the build of the Ammonite Scala REPL over from SBT to Mill (https://github.com/lihaoyi/Ammonite/blob/master/build.sc), along with the build for the uPickle JSON serialization library (https://github.com/lihaoyi/upickle/blob/master/build.sc) if you’re interested in seeing what non-trivial, real-world builds using Mill look like.

If you’ve been looking for a better Scala build tool, give Mill a try!

2 Likes

Coming from a java developer background, I cannot help but ask what is the need to rebuild the wheel when Maven appears to be an adequate build tool for enterprise environments? Is it just merely some type of academic exercise to need to create so many new build tools? Of course I am just learning Scala but so far have not seen the reason or need to use anything except maven and eclipse? What am I doing wrong ? Since so many in this forum seem to push sbt, now Mill and all those other things assciated with scala; i.e. play , … Is it possible that this is what is holding scala back from entering the mainstream more rapidly ?

I don’t think so; if anything, I would imagine that one might argue sbt is partly holding it back, thus things like Mill (though I don’t think I’d go that far). But why not maven? If you are doing exclusively jvm stuff and nothing too unusual, maven is great. But Scala isn’t just the JVM these days. Mill is meant to be a more natural, language based approach, and more flexible. See bazel for another build tool used in the industry with somewhat similar goals (but different priorities).