Program logic error

I am a beginner trying to learn Scala.

This is a small program I tried to write to calculate expressions in the correct order -

object Calc extends App {
    while (true) {
        val input: String = scala.io.StdIn.readLine("> ")
        println(evaluate(input))
    }

def evaluate(input: String) = {
        val finput = input.replace(" ", "")
        var elems = new Array[String](finput.length())
        var last = elems.length
        for (i <- 0 to last - 1) {
            elems(i) = finput.substring(i, i + 1)
        }
        val operators: Array[String] = Array("/", "*", "+", "-")
        for (i <- 0 to operators.length) {
            while (elems contains operators(i)) {
                val pos = elems.indexOf(operators(i))
                val a = elems(pos-1).toInt
                val b = elems(pos+1).toInt
                var found = 0
                elems(pos) match {
                    case "/" => found = a/b
                    case "*" => found = a*b
                    case "+" => found = a+b
                    case "-" => found = a-b
                }
                elems(pos-1) = found.toString()
                last = last - 2
                for (j <- pos to last) {
                    elems(j) = elems(j + 2)
                }
            }
        }
        elems(0)
    }
}

This program does not work, I get a runtime error at elems(j) = elems(j + 2). Could someone tell me why?
Also, is the program design okay?

Well the proximate cause of your exception is the line
for (j <- pos to last) { ...
The to() method on RichInt is inclusive on the range, so you’re walking off the end of the array when trying to shift the trailing elements forward. To get past that immediate problem, you could use until() instead:
for (j <- pos until last) { ...