Number guessing in scala

Hi community,

I am new to scala and I am trying to get used to various concepts of scala. One of them seems to be to always prefer val over var. This seems to imply that loops are replaced by recursions. I have written a simple game of guessing numbers. I have written it using two attempts: attempt1 is how I would have written it in a language such as Java and attempt2 is the way I would do it in Scala. Now I am asking some people with more experience than me: is attempt2 the scala way to do it? Or am I missing some beautiful concepts here? :wink:

import scala.io.StdIn._
import scala.util.Random

object Main extends App {
  val TRIALS = 3

def attempt1(): Unit = {
    val numberToGuess = new Random().nextInt(100)
    var guessedNumber = -1
    var trials = 0

println("Guess a number between 0 and 100")
    // println(numberToGuess)
    while (trials < TRIALS && guessedNumber != numberToGuess) {
      print("Your guess?: ")
      guessedNumber = readInt()
      if (guessedNumber > numberToGuess) println("Too large!")
      else if (guessedNumber < numberToGuess) println("Too small!")
      else {
        println("You got it!")
        return
      }
      trials += 1
    }
    println("You lost")
  }

def attempt2(): Unit = {
    def singleGuess(numberToGuess: Int, trials: Int = TRIALS): Boolean = {
      if (trials == 0) return false

val guessed = { print("Your guess?: "); readInt() }

if (guessed > numberToGuess) { println("Too large!"); singleGuess(numberToGuess, trials-1) }
      else if (guessed < numberToGuess) { println("Too small!"); singleGuess(numberToGuess, trials-1) }
      else { println("You got it!"); return true }
    }

val numberToGuess = new Random().nextInt(100)
    println("Guess a number between 0 and 100")
    // println(numberToGuess)
    if (!singleGuess(numberToGuess)) {
      println("You lost")
    }
  }

// attempt1()
  attempt2()

}