Newbie looking for help in learning

Hello all,

I recently got to learn about Scala and Scala 3. I’m looking to learn scala and create and deploy my own Website/SPA for my personal portfolio. I am not too new to functional programming, but I have never done web programming before.

1. Scala 2 is still fairly popular in the ecosystem it seems. Should I still learn Scala 2?

2. More importantly, is there any books to teach me web programming with Scala? Not only backend, a bit of front end primer would help too. I know about TCP sockets, Unix pipes, message passing, shm etc but I have never gone beyond that. I know HTML and CSS and a bit of JS (which was ages ago, HTML 4.1 days).

Hi and welcome!

First, yeah you probably want to first learn Scala 2 and then checkout what are the differences with Scala 3.

For Web development with Scala there are 2 common approaches: Using a Web framework like Play that let’s you manage everything, or having two independent projects a SPA and an API, both can be written in Scala thanks to ScalaJS.

About learning, I personally would recommend focusing first in learning the language basis before diving deep into a project. But, I understand some people prefer a more hands-on approach; my only word of caution would be to be careful of not picking too much at once because it could be overwhelming.

About resources:
"Fundamentals*:

• The Scala Specialization in Coursera.
  • Essential Scala from Underscore.
  • Scala your first programming language by Devinsideyou.

Practical:

• Hands-on Scala programming by Haoyi Li
  • Creative Scala from Underscore.

After getting comfortable with the language, the next step would be to search for libraries / frameworks that are compatible with your preferences; The Scala community is very big and there are many different sub-communities.

2 Likes