New to Scala! Confused with syntaxes here

Hi all,
I am new to scala and eager to be comfortable working with Scala.
I am looking at some code that is written by somebody else to understand scala and logic of the code they wrote so as I will get used to it.

And these 2 lines are pretty tricky to me, so can you please explain to me about _ value and two assignments one after another? Thank you so much

private var _cartLineItems:java.util.List[CartLineItem] = _

def setCartLineItems(items:java.util.List[CartLineItem]) = _cartLineItems = items

Seems to me that this code was written by someone trying to “Java-fy” Scala. See there is no reason for _ there. The setXXXX method is a setter to pass a value to the private field.

If you know java this is the same as a java bean definition.

In scala you need to ask more questions than just shove code in a Java bean and don’t care anymore. For example, does this attribute is necessary to class to function properly? Then require it on constructor. Does this class needs equals and hashCode ? Then make it a case class

This could be translated like:

case class Cart(lineItems: List[CartLineItem])

Note that this method you showed uses Java’s collection, not Scala’s so to you use it you’ll need to convert. The point is Scala is not hard, but people bring “baggage” from other languages and try to do like they used to, since Scala is so general it allows it, but is not idiomatic thus causing more confusion.

2 Likes

Thank you so much for your point! I am not sure if the class needs equals and hashcode.

Do you mean
def setCartLineItems(items:java.util.List[CartLineItem]) = _cartLineItems = items

is same as

void setCartLineItems(List items)
{
_cartLineItems = items;
}

And what does this _ assigned mean?
private var _cartLineItems:java.util.List[CartLineItem] = _
Is it same as
private List _cartLineItems=null;

Best regards,
cici