Minimal set of tools for scala 2 or 3

First of all, I am completely new to scala. But I have many years of experience in programming for high performance computing (fortran, later python) as well as functional programming (Wolfram Mathematica). So, I understand the basic concepts of the language quite well, but unfortunately I cannot penetrate its organization. My basic problem is that I cannot find the stuff that interests me in one place. All the information is dispersed over many sites. Therefore, I would appreciate answers with a couple of well targeted links.

Below I will describe a few of my very basic questions. They are so short and simple that it make no sense to split them in several posts.

1. Scala 2 vs. Scala 3. I learnt that they are very different languages. Scala 3 is essentially not backward compatible. There is no full documentation. Does it mean that one should start with Scala 2? What are the pros and the contras?

2. Style: 2 spaces is recommended indent for Scala 2, whereas the proper spacing is mandatory in Scala 3. This means a dedicated editor is needed and I cannot use my favorite Emacs editor, right? I am a bit skeptical about IntelliJ IDEA because it is a huge tool. The .dmg package for MacOS is 776MB. I already have a huge Anaconda on my laptop. With only 5GB free space currently available I simply cannot effort this tool.

3. Exactly due to the space limitation, I cannot install many packages via brew because it insists on installing the full xcode. Can one get along without xcode? My attempt to install Metals for emacs was therefore not successful. What would be the minimal tool to type sbt projects?

4. Assume I want to find a documentation on the MurmurHash3 function from the standard scala library, where I have to look?