Macros in scala 3

I just watched a video by Odersky Countdown to Scala 3. He mentioned that the meta programming interface is changing significantly, and also that the documentation of the system is undergoing significant revisiting. Where can I find the documentation for macros in scala 3?

I have a project in scala 2.13, and I was thinking of looking into macros. Should I wait until scala 3 or should I dive in already?

Background: I’ve been writing Lisp macros for 20 years. I’m hoping to understand how they are similar and different from Scala macros. I assume some of the power of Lisp macros has been expressly forbidden in Scala macros. For example, a lisp macro is basically a function which takes an s-expression as input and returns an s-expression. The OUTPUT s-expression should be valid code to input to the compiler, however, being valid code means that it might be another macro call, or it might be code which contains macro calls in any evaluation position. However, the INPUT s-expression (to a Lisp macro) need not at all be valid code. The semantics of the input s-expression is 100% up to the interpretation of the macro.

As I understand, in Scala macro input must be a valid object which the compiler has already successfully build into an AST. Is this correct?

Anyway, I’d love to take a look at the documentation.

2 Likes

http://dotty.epfl.ch/docs/reference/metaprogramming/toc.html

2 Likes

What is the difference between Lisp macros and scala macros?

1 Like

Doc is in progress, but check out https://lampepfl.github.io/scala3-macro-tutorial/.

2 Likes

Listening to the presentation I would say the RCs will be delayed. There have been some changes from M1 to M2 in the macros but they were minimal and were documented. So in my opinion you can dive in with the caveat that some changes may still occur. Two downside though: lack of documentation and the need to adapt existing code. My 2cts.