Is there something like #include in C

Sorry to ask, but I am a beginner.
I have a very extensive programme and would like to divide it into a few files. Is there something like the #include construct of C?

Hi @Buschmensch44 and welcome to the community.

Yes, we have import which is very similar, here you can find a pretty good summary of how to use this feature. But, if after reading it you still have problems do not doubt posting again with more details.

Given that you are new to the language I would also recommend you to pick a book or a course to help you with all the concepts, the language itself is somewhat complex and if you mix-in functional programming concepts like immutability and higher-order functions it may be a little bit too hard at the beginning.

Anyways, feel free to also jump in into gitter which is a real time chat room about all the things Scala for this kind of “basic questions” (whatever that means), it probably would be easier to ask and get help there.

1 Like

We don’t have #include, but we don’t miss it, either. In Scala — and this is true in Java as well — separate source files can reference each other directly without any header files or other ceremony. You just compile them together, and it works. Compiling all the files in a project together is something your IDE or build tool will normally do for you, without any special setup. Or if you’re using command-line scalac, you just scalac *.scala.

5 Likes

I do miss the feature of just including a small source file, just like #include in C, especially in Scala scripts where an sbt-project or even a package is overkill.

I found the Ammonite REPL for Scala overcomes this problem by providing

import $file.file_name

Have a look at https://ammonite.io.

Thank you very much for answering my question. But unfortunately repl does not solve my problem.