Illegal start of toplevel definition

I hope I’m not duplicating a previous discussion, but I have searched and not found any answers here or elsewhere. I am just a newbie in Scala and working through simple exercises using VS Code. I wrote a simple loop…
for (i ← 10 to 0)
** println(i)**
and received the error message on both statements. I have no idea what it means
Thank you

It means that for can’t be a top-level definition.
In other words, it can not be in the outer scope of a file. The fix is to move it inside something that can be a top-level definition; like an object.

What can and can’t be top-level varies depending on the version of the language that you are using, and if you are writing a traditional program, a script, or a worksheet.

For example a Scala 2 program would look like this:

object Main {
  def main(args: Array[String]): Unit = {
    for (i ← 10 to 0 by -1) {
      println(i)
    }
  }
}

But, while learning all that ceremony can be annoying. So, if you rather use scala-cli to write a Scala 3 script, you can just do:

for i ← 10 to 0 by -1 do println(i)

And it should work.

Thanks for leading me in the right path. The above works at the command line, but the body of the for loop required parentheses.

Now I need an explanation of what sort of statements are “top level”. It’s not mentioned in Scala for the Impatient

1 Like

I don’t even know, but with Scala 2 it just works except for the fancy arrow

➜  snips scala -Xlint illegal-top.scala
illegal-top.scala:4: warning: The unicode arrow `←` is deprecated, use `<-` instead. If you still wish to display it as one character, consider using a font with programming ligatures such as Fira Code. [quickfixable]
for (i ← 10 to 0 by -1) println(i)
       ^
[snip]

yet

➜  snips scala-cli --server=false --scala 2.13.13 illegal-top.scala
.../illegal-top.scala:4: error: expected class or object definition
for (i ← 10 to 0 by -1) println(i)
^
1 error
Compilation failed