Http4s - logging inside "onError" method

Hello all - I’m a Scala newbie - I followed the example here: Quick Start (http4s.org) and imported the project into Intellij IDEA.

One of the REST APIs that is implemented in the example fetches a dad joke from a website and returns it as JSON:

def impl[F[_]: Concurrent](C: Client[F]): Jokes[F] = new Jokes[F]{
    val dsl = new Http4sClientDsl[F]{}
    import dsl._

def get: F[Jokes.Joke] = {
      C.expect[Joke](GET(uri"https://icanhazdadjoke.com/"))
        .adaptError{ case t => JokeError(t) }
    }
  }

I want log any errors in .onError(), after .adaptError(), and I’ve tried using logging with one of these two constructs, and both result in compilation errors:

def logError[F[_]: Logger]: PartialFunction[Throwable, F[Unit]] = {
        case e: Exception      => Logger[F].error(e)("error handler")
  }

Adding .onError(logError) after .adaptError() results in:

No implicit arguments of type: Logger[F_]

What am I missing?

Thank you!

You need to provide a Logger for whatever F is instantiated to (IO in this case) and propagate it to the usage site.

Fixing compilation errors bottom up, you’ll have to modify the Jokes#impl() signature to

def impl[F[_]: Concurrent: Logger](C: Client[F]): Jokes[F] =
  // ...

or, equivalently:

def impl[F[_]: Concurrent](C: Client[F])(using Logger[F]): Jokes[F] =
  // ...

…proceed similarly with QuickstartServer#run(), then eventually create a Logger instance in Main and pass it, e.g.:

val run = 
  Slf4jLogger.create[IO].flatMap { 
    case given Logger[IO] => QuickstartServer.run[IO]
  }

See Contextual Abstractions for details on this mechanism.

http4s uses quite many advanced Scala constructs. I’d suggest to use a text book and smaller ad hoc projects not involving any external libraries in order to familiarize yourself with Scala fundamentals before (or at least: side by side with) getting into the nitty-gritty of http4s and similar libraries.

2 Likes