How reduceLeft works on sequence of Functions returning Future

This might be a naive question and I am sorry for that. I am studying Scala Futures and stumbled on below code:

object Main extends App {
    def await[T](f: Future[T]) = Await.result(f, 10.seconds)

def f(n: Int): Future[Int] = Future {n + 1}
    def g(n: Int): Future[Int] = Future {n * 2}
    def h(n: Int): Future[Int] = Future {n - 1}

def doAllInOrder[T](f: (T => Future[T])*): T => Future[T] = {
      f.reduceLeft((a,b) => x => a(x).flatMap(y => b(y)))
    }

println(await(doAllInOrder(f, g, h)(10))) // 21
  }

I know how reduceLeft works when it is applied on Collections. But in the above example, as I understand, in the first pass of reduceLeft value x i.e. 10 is applied to Function a and the result is applied to Function b using flatMap which eventually return Future[Int] (say, I call it result). In the next pass of reduceLeft the result and Function h has to be used, but here is I am troubled.

The result is actually an already executed Future, but the reduceLeft next pass expects a Function which returns a Future[Int].Then how it is working?

Another thing I am not able to understand how each pass sending its result to next pass of reduceLeft, i.e. how x is getting it’s value in subsequent passes.

Though both of my confusions are interrelated and a good explanation may help clear my doubt.

Thanks in advance.

I would recommend you to execute the algorithm by hand on a paper or whiteboard.

You are right that reduceLeft expects the result to be of the same type as the elements over which we are reducing. Also, the doAllInOrder function has a return type of T => Future[T].

Where you are wrong is the assumption, that the result of the first pass is an executed future. Here is the same function, but with more indentation and type annotations:

def doAllInOrder[T](f: (T => Future[T])*): T => Future[T] = {
  f.reduceLeft(
    (a: (T => Future[T]) ,b: (T => Future[T])) =>