Fullstack scala?

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to Scala and I was considering starting a project using only Scala for both backend and frontend.
I was just wondering if someone have done this in production? any feedback, gotchas?
What libraries are you using ?

Thanks,
Khaled

I laugh every time I hear these terms back-end and front-end. From my heritage VLSI design, back-end is physical verification and front-end is schematic capture and layout generation. I had some colleagues who spoke English as a second language who also referred to another part as the middle-end.

I have – my company is basically full Scala end-to-end. (It’s open source – here’s the repo. Note that the code quality varies wildly, since much of the code dates back to 2013, when I was still fairly new to Scala myself. It’s also way behind the times, still on Scala 2.11.)

On the front end, I wound up building my own framework. I do not recommend this: I did it because I was building basically the first production product using Scala.js (this was around six years ago), and there weren’t good bindings for more mature frameworks. I gather that a lot of folks have had success using React, and there are now several different bindings for it.

My APIs are all built with Autowire, and that’s been a joy. It means that the API definitions themselves are Scala traits, so I have strong types from end to end – I can make a change in my back-end Actors, and have the compiler guide me all the way through to the front end changes that I need to make as a result.

3 Likes

hah yeah that’s completely different :slight_smile:

1 Like

ah interesting that’s actually one of the reasons I’m interesting in using one language all the way is reuse!
what would you choose if you were starting that project today?
what would you do differently ?