`def time[A](f: => A)` what does this syntax mean

I came across this timer definition

def time[A](f: => A) = {
  val s = System.nanoTime
  val ret = f
  println("time: "+(System.nanoTime-s)/1e6+"ms")
  ret
}

Unfortunately I cannot find this construction (def time[A](f: => A)) in the reference. Can someone briefly explain the meaning and point to the place in reference, where it is described.

This is a by-name parameter.

1 Like

@sangamon Sorry, stupid question because I am very new to scala, in your link I do not see square brackets.

That is just a generic / type parameter: https://docs.scala-lang.org/tour/polymorphic-methods.html

1 Like

Scala has great free online courses. You can learn these basics (like type parameters, or by-name parameters) in this course: https://www.coursera.org/learn/scala-functional-programming from the language creator Martin Odersky himself.

1 Like

@spamegg1 Thank you, I have seen it. I do not need a certificate. I prefer learning by doing. To this end some comprehensive reference could be useful to have.

Let me illustrate why I think current online reference is not sufficient. Assume we would like to learn about the method groupBy. As the first approximation we type groupBy in the search field of the online language reference, and what we get: Trait Traversable and Trait Iterable. Why? This is not the kind of information one expects to see. One does not want to read about all the methods in the traits, but a concrete description and an example of the give method would be nice to have.

Next one searches in the API reference, and what comes out? Millions of results, which is not surprising because the method can be applied to different objects. But here again the description of what method is doing is missing.