Creating a getter of a class with a type parameter

indent preformatted text by 4 spaces

I can’t get this example to work, and I don’t know why.

class ClassExample[T](private var _value: T) {
  def value = _value
  def value_ (newValue: T): Unit = _value = newValue
}

class UseExample {
  val _classExample = new ClassExample(false:Boolean)

def getCE: ClassExample[Boolean] = _classExample // here is where I get the error below
}

The error is "Expression of type Boolean => ClassExample[Boolean] doesn't conform to expected type ClassExample[Boolean]"

What am I doing wrong?

I’m just a scala beginner. My S/N may not be high.

• The first line in UseExample doesn’t refer to ClassExample[Boolean] rather the raw trait.

I think this is the root of the problem.

Scala has specific syntactical use of underscores. I have yet to use it myself. But it does give me the willies to see them used as elements in identifiers. I know it’s legal. The brief style guide on scala-lang.org speaks to the issue. Me? I decided to look for other places I could mess up.

I just copy-pasted the code (into an ammonite REPL) and it runs fine.

The code you have is correct but not idiomatic. Scala knows that false is Boolean so what you have done with new ClassExample(false:Boolean) is widen the value to type Boolean, which is a no-op in this case. Just new ClassExample(false) is sufficient.

I’m having no problems pasting this into the REPL so I think the problem you are experiencing is local to your environment.

Well, technically yes – the underscore on its own is a common symbol that I generally pronounce as “whatever” – but it’s totally legal to use it as part of a symbol. I sometimes use an underscore prefix to denote private members, the same way that @Michael does with _value; there’s nothing wrong with it, although I wouldn’t say it’s a common idiom.