Convert Java code to Scala

I am a scala beginner and need some help to convert the below java “retrywhen” to scala.

Observable.merge(observables).retryWhen(errors -> errors.flatMap(error -> {
if (error instanceof IOException) {
return Observable.just(null);
}
// For anything other than IOException, don’t retry
return Observable.error(error);
})
)

I tried as below but gives me “missing parameter type” for “flatmap”.

Observable.merge(observables).retryWhen((errors: Observable[_ <: Throwable]) => errors.flatMap(error => if (isInstanceOf[IOException]) Observable.just(null) else Observable.error(error) ))

Thank you.

First, a few suggestions for creating posts like this:

• Put code blocks inside “```” (triple backticks) to improve readability.
  • Reference libraries you are using (where does Observable come from?) and provide type information for identifiers originating outside the quoted code (what is observables?).
  • Quote error messages verbatim.

Assuming you’re using RxJava 2 and observables is a Java Iterable<Observable<T>> for whatever concrete T, I cannot reproduce any compiler error with your version.

A slightly more idiomatic Scala version:

Observable.merge(observables).retryWhen(_.flatMap {
    case _: IOException => Observable.just(null)
    case error => Observable.error(error)
  }
)

(No guarantees for correctness - I don’t know RxJava and haven’t tested this.)

However, I’d strongly suggest to trace back a few steps for a variety of reasons.

• It’s easier to familiarize yourself with Scala via a text book and small pieces of standalone code before attempting to convert legacy Java code.
  • There’s better, Scala-native choices for reactive streams libraries than RxJava: akka-streams, Monix,…
  • You’ll want to get rid of Java residue (like null usage and Java collections just in this snippet), so a port from Java will always turn out to be a complete overhaul or even rewrite rather than a faithful translation.
2 Likes