Companion object and generics

Hi,

I’m new to Scala and having some trouble with generics and companion objects. I have tried to find the answer elsewhere but have’t found anything which exactly matches my problem.

I have some (simplified) code like this:

class MyInt(val num: Int) {

def +(that: MyInt): MyInt = new MyInt(num + that.num)
def *(that: MyInt): MyInt = new MyInt(num * that.num)
}

object MyInt {

val zero = new MyInt(0)
val one = new MyInt(1)
}

I am interested in abstracting this behaviour using a generic trait Ring[A]. I can guarantee the existence of the + and * methods in MyInt by defining:

trait Ring[A] {
def +(that: A): A
def *(that: A): A
}

and then I can say that MyInt extends Ring[MyInt]. However, if I was writing some generic code for a type A which extended Ring[A], I could not write A.zero and A.one and have the code compile. Is there a way to guarantee that if a class A extends Ring[A] then the companion object to A exists and contains val’s zero and one (so A.zero and A.one make sense).

Thanks in advance for any help.

Have you looked into typeclasses yet? At first blush, that’s how I would probably approach this problem: I would define Ring as a typeclass along the lines of:

trait Ring[T] {
  def +(t: A, that: A): A
  def *(t: A, that: A): A
  def zero: A
  def one: A
}

Then you would implement Ring[T] for each desired type, like this (haven’t tried compiling this, but something like it) (edited to actually get this right):

object Ring {
  implicit val MyIntRing = new Ring[MyInt] {
    def +(t: MyInt, that: MyInt): MyInt = new MyInt(t.num + that.num)
    def *(t: MyInt, that: MyInt): MyInt = new MyInt(t.num * that.num)
    val zero = new MyInt(0)
    val one = new MyInt(1)
  }

implicit class RingSyntax[T: Ring](t: T) {
    def +(that: A): A = implicitly[Ring[T]].+(t, that)
    def *(that: A): A = implicitly[Ring[T]].*(t, that)
  }
}