Best way to merge two case classes

Hi,

I’m pretty new to Scala (although not to programming in general) so am looking for someone wiser/cleverer than myself to give some advice on the best way to achieve merging case classes together. I’m using this in the context of Lagom but I think this is more of a general Scala question rather than Lagom-specific. Please forgive me for any glaring mistakes I’ve made - the learning curve is quite steep here - but please do point them out! Also, please note that using the code provided I am able to achieve what I wanted to achieve - just not in a style that I am comfortable with.

With Lagom it seems to be encouraged to use case classes to pass data around to each part of the eco-system of microservices that one is assembling.

Basically, I have two microservices: survey and question - each one handles persisting their own data separately - questions can be updated independently of surveys (and vice-versa). When a survey is saved, it is saved with only references to questions (via the ref field in PageQuestion which will be used to populate the mutable question field later on).

I have the following case classes in my Survey microservice. Note that in the PageQuestion class I am currently using a var field for questions because I need to be able to amalgamate the PageQuestion’s question field with data from the question service’s Question object.

case class Survey(uuid: String, name: String, pages: Option[Array[Page]])
object Survey {
  implicit val format: Format[Survey] = Json.format
}

case class Page(uuid: String, name: String, pos: Int, questions: Option[Array[PageQuestion]])
object Page {
  implicit val format: Format[Page] = Json.format
}

case class PageQuestion(ref: String, pos: Int, var question: Option[Question])
object PageQuestion {
  implicit val format: Format[PageQuestion] = Json.format
}

And the following in my Question microservice.

case class Question(uuid: String, title: String, description: String)