Beginner's question: What is the value of "def?"

I’m still learning here. In my second month, I’m wondering why I should use methods. I’m going through the process of eliminating them and putting my non-i/o functions into vals.

The vals end up being typed: I=>R that’s a bit clumsy. Otherwise, things are much easier. Step two is to eliminate “{}” as much as possible.

In the past week, I’ve reduced the size of my class files in half. I only had four weeks of code, so it isn’t a big thing. But I’ve found it a useful way of reducing the problem to simplicity. If a method doesn’t fit well into a val, it needs to be rewritten. Methods do allow overloading. That makes some things easier. I’m split on if that is a good thing or not. I’m currently reserving methods for things that are largely about state.

Is my approach a bad thing? I don’t have a good principled rule for using functions vs. methods. That in itself is a good sign I don’t understand the issue well enough. Any thoughts?

It is better to use methods. There are a number of reasons:

1. they are more powerful
    E.g. you cannot express polymorphic and dependently typed functions with function literal syntax
// polymorphic
def listHead[A](list: List[A]): A = list.head

Will be fixed in Scala 3

// dependently typed
trait Decoder[Input] {
  type Output
  def decode(input: Input): Output
}
def decode[A](input: A)(implicit decoder: Decoder[A]): decoder.Output = decoder.decode(input)

Fixed in Scala 3
https://dotty.epfl.ch/docs/reference/new-types/dependent-function-types.html

1. Defs are available on class level whereas vals are available on class instance level. Vals are initialized in order and if you use uninitialized val there will be NullPointerException:
class Test1 {
  val a = plusOne(1)
  val plusOne: Int => Int = i => i + 1
}
class Test2 {
  val a = plusOne(1)
  def plusOne(i: Int) = i + 1
}

Test1 will fail while Test2 will not.