Basics of SBT dependencies management

Hi everyone!

I’m new to Scala and Scala.js and I’m struggling with some basic concepts, even before I actually start to think about application logic… And I must say I DO want to learn this, because I see so much potential in this language!

The main problems I run into are due to my lack of understanding of SBT dependencies and import statements. As an example, I cloned a starter project from scala-js-example-app, which includes the following build.sbt file:

// Turn this project into a Scala.js project by importing these settings
enablePlugins(ScalaJSPlugin, WorkbenchPlugin)

scalaVersion := "2.11.8"

name := "Example"

version := "0.1-SNAPSHOT"

libraryDependencies ++= Seq(
  "org.scala-js" %%% "scalajs-dom" % "0.9.1",
  "com.lihaoyi" %%% "scalatags" % "0.6.1",
  "com.lihaoyi" %%% "scalarx" % "0.3.2",
)

% sign

First, why do I sometimes see %, %% or even %%% in the dependencies definition? Why one, two or three signs? What do they mean?

Update dependencies

Second, is there a way to update all package dependencies, similar to npm update in Node.js? I included a package that somehow changed my Scala version:

[warn] Scala version was updated by one of library dependencies:

So I tried to change it manually in the build.sbt file, but that caused the application to crash.

Import from dependency

Finally, how am I supposed to know what the import statement is supposed to look like for a specific managed dependency? As an example, I included "com.mediamath" %%% "scala-json" % "1.0" as a dependency, but I must import json._ in my .scala file. If it weren’t for the documentation, how could’ve I guessed it?

Thanks helping a green Scala programmer! :crazy_face:

I struggle with sbt myself, but some quick answers

• The single % is for java libraries, the %% appends the version of scala used, and should be use for scala libraries; the %%% is for scala-js (and scala native).