0.1 * 0.1= ? on repl

I’m a Scalar beginner and ran into this "0.1 * 0.1=0.010000000000000002 "
スクリーンショット 2023-01-02 午後2.56.43
Can someone tell me how I should understand this behavior?
Thank you.

It’s called floating point arithmetic

1 Like

1 Like

https://0.30000000000000004.com

3 Likes

Here’s an idea. I’m sure it’s not original, and it may cause bigger problems than it solves, but I’ll “float” it for feedback.

Why not put some basic cleanup rules in the print function for floating-point numbers? After the number is converted to a string, check the mantissa for, say, 14 or more consecutive zeros followed by a digit. If that pattern is found, just lop off the zeros and the digit for the printout. Similarly, if 14 or more nines are found, lop them off and increment the preceding digit by one.

Has anything like that ever actually been done in a major language standard?

But how would you distinguish from a number that has this pattern but is correct?
The solution to this is to use BigDecimal when you need the precision (let’s say you are working with money) and you can sacrifice the performance.

If they called it “breaking point arithmetic”, people might be less confused. Or at least harbor lowered expectations.

2 Likes

But how would you distinguish from a number that has this pattern but is correct?

Can you provide an example outside of pure mathematics where that could happen?

If you have a string of 14 zeros or 14 nines in a floating-point number, I can’t imagine any practical application where you would lose any significant information by simply eliminating them for printed output.

The closest example that I can come up with is unix time (time in seconds since New Years 1970), but even there It is hard to come up with a situation where the pattern could represent real information. Using standard 64-bit arithmetic, you can get down to a few microseconds of precision.