What are some best resources to learn scala language effectively

Hey, I’m new to Scala. I want to learn it effectively.
In internet there are so many resources. But, I’m confused which one should I follow.
Any suggestions?

Hello,
The best resource to learn Scala language in my opinion is Martin Odersky’s two (Principles and Design courses) Scala courses available in Coursera.

I wonder if any one teaching Scala better than the creator himself. Martin is also a professor in Ecole polytechnic in Switzerland so he knows how to teach.

Once you finish these two courses then based on your interest you can start learning Spark or start developing applications or micro services using the language. In the latter case you may need to learn cats library but not necessary.

I can say that I started loving this language after completing the two courses mentioned above.

One last note. Taking those two courses is not an easy ride but it is definitely worth it.

1 Like

If your background is in Java/C#, I usually recommend beginning with the book Scala for the Impatient, which is designed as a flying start in the language for people who are already comfortable with traditional OO.

1 Like

I know. But, they are paid courses and some people can’t afford to it right?

I am an experiment in action. Since I am trying to teach myself Scala while working full time as a java developer. At this point I view Scala as a very, very , very difficult language to learn. I mean to become competent in the Scala eco system appears to be a daunting task. ON the other hand, if you can learn it on the job in an environment that is using , perhaps that might make it easier to do.