A small type-safe Actor class implementation

Hey All,

Here is a small type-safe Actor class.

Akka is great but working on day to day stuff I sometimes need something small that will just process messages sequentially.

Hope it helps someone.

Cheers
Simer

1 Like

Does your actor differ significantly from e.g. https://github.com/scalaz/scalaz/blob/series/7.3.x/concurrent/src/main/scala/scalaz/concurrent/Actor.scala ?

Hmm just had a quick look and they seem to differ quite a bit. My implementation borrows ideas from akka’s API.

But the end goal is the same I guess - to process messages sequentially.

I am a beginner in Scala … always need to say that before I open my big mouth … :slight_smile:
But I am trying to understand this implementation and to understand what it is supposed to do. Also what is the underlying purpose of the code?

For an introduction to the concept of Actors, watch a couple Akka Tutorial videos on YouTube. (Akka is the standard Actor implementation in Scala.)

You may have an easier time understanding the code once you understand what is trying to achieve.

Brian Maso

1 Like

Hi sidhartha11,

Actor is a concurrency abstraction like the Futures. An Actor allows us to run some logic in a single threaded way in a multi-threaded environment (JVM) and makes it’s easier to manage concurrency as we don’t have to worry about locking & threads synchronisation.

It’s also very easy to overuse Actors, for example implementing something like a simple in-memory counter which can simply be achieved using a volatile variable or AtomicInteger. Using Actor for this would be overkill and I’ve actually seen these implementations in production systems.

I reckon having a play with it will give you a better idea. Here is a ping pong example.

I agree with Brian. There are a lot of very helpful tutorials available on Akka that explain the concept of Actors. Let us know if there is anything specific that you need explained.

Simer