Use of Java Streams from Scala

Hello,
I recently started learning Scala and am using it in an existing larger Java project. I have an existing API, that returns a java.util.stream.Stream and wanted to use that from my Scala code. I solved my problem by using iterator.asScala, but the first solution I tried, suggested by a comment on StackOverflow, was simply using Stream’s methods with Scala function literals. This lead to problems with the typechecker, that I’d like to understand.

Following is some minimized code, that causes the errors:

class StackOverflowReproduce extends App {
    val normalWords = (java.util.stream.Stream.of("hello", "world")
        collect groupingBy(_.length, mapping(_.toUpperCase(), joining()))
    )
}

This causes:

StackOverflowReproduce.scala:7: error: missing parameter type for expanded function ((x$1: <error>) => x$1.length)
                   ^
StackOverflowReproduce.scala:7: error: value toUpperCase is not a member of ?0
                                       ^

As far as I understand, the compiler cannot infer the type of both _ placeholders, but replacing them with (_: String) causes a StackOverflowError when compiling.
How would I fix this problem, if it happened with code without an alternative approach like here?

edit: hit ctrl-enter too soon…

Have you tried using the rocket notation instead?

class StackOverflowReproduce extends App {
    val normalWords = (java.util.stream.Stream.of("hello", "world")
        collect groupingBy(str => str.length, mapping(str.toUpperCase(), joining()))
    )
}

As a general rule, the underscore can only be used when it appears once for each variable. If you have two underscores in a single lambda, Scala sees them as two arguments. So _+_ is short for (x,y) => x+y, not x => x+x.

I could be wrong, but I think the problem you’re running into is that Scala isn’t auto-detecting that it needs to run SAM expansion on the arguments you’re providing to the Java groupingBy function.