Scala beginner has some questions

Hey Guys! I have some questions, because I am a Scala novice (And my English is not the best).

1. I use Intellij and I have downloaded the Scala plugin. Have I installed Scala on my computer or have I to download it with an extra file?

2. In IntelliJ when you creat a project, what should I choose when they question comes if I take, sbt or Lightbend Project Starter or IDEA. Which of them should I take?

3. When I have created a project and add a new Scala class, it asks me which kind of class I need. Class or Object or Trait. Which of them should I take and what are the differences between them?

4. When I created a Project with (2. Question) IDEA and (3.Question) Object, is it possible that I create a class too and I write my functions in my class and import it in the object and run it there?

5. Are there any informations that are really good to know?

Best regards, Lockna

1. If you want to work from the IDE exclusively, you don’t need to install anything else. The Scala compiler is usually downloaded by a build tool or your IDE, which also ensures the right version is used. Installing Scala is only required, if you want to use its command line tools. You need a Java runtime, but if Intellij is running you already have that :wink:
  2. I usually choose sbt, which is a build tool (like Maven or Gradle, if you come from a Java background). Lightbend Project Starter also creates an sbt project, but uses a template from a list, which is useful for some libraries, which require more setup than just adding a dependency. It is also sometimes used for example usages of libraries.
    For learning Scala, an IDEA project is also ok, which stores all build settings in an IDEA-specific format, but as soon as you want to use external libraries, using a build tool like SBT is much more convenient (and also not specific to one IDE).