Need help on understanding generic fold for generic data

Hi all, I just started learning Scala and FP through Essential-Scala ebook that is open source by underscore.io. I’m currently learning about generic, functions and fold method. I stumble upon a question to code
"A Tree of type A is a Node with left and right Tree or a Leaf with an element of type A. Implement this algebraic data type along with a fold method."

My answer for the fold method was totally wrong, I put the type to be A for everything (i.e. no type B written at all) because i thought if tree is of type A then the nodes and leafs will also be type A as well.
The code shown below is the correct answer and i had a hard time understanding (i.e. how does type B come about) and how to decide when to declare different type (i.e. A,B,C, …etc). Any help would be appreciated, thank you.

sealed trait Tree[A] {
def fold[B](node: (B, B) => B, leaf: A => B): B
}

final case class Node[A](left: Tree[A], right: Tree[A]) extends Tree[A] {
def fold[B](node: (B, B) => B, leaf: A => B): B =
node(left.fold(node, leaf), right.fold(node, leaf))
}

final case class Leaf[A](value: A) extends Tree[A]
{
leaf(value)
}

The basic idea for a fold is to transform some type (in this case, Tree[A]) into another, user-chosen type. We’ll arbitrarily call this user-chosen type B. Every subtype in the Tree hierarchy needs a way to be transformed into a B. These various transformations will be the parameters to our eventual fold method.

Now our tree datastructure is recursively defined, so our fold is naturally going to be recursively defined as well.

The base case (Leaf) is pretty straightforward. For example (hypothetical):

trait ExampleLeaf[A] {
 def value: A
 def foldLeaf[B](f: (A)=>B): B = f(value)
}

that is, turn the contents of the Leaf node into a value of whatever type the user wishes to transform the tree into.