Multidimensional array-like structure of different types

Hi,

I’m wondering if someone might help me with a problem that has me stumped. I’m new to Scala, but have some experience with c, Pascal and Erlang.

I’m writing some music software and have a class called ‘Note’. It is constructed as:

class Note (
var delta: Int = 0, // time until event occurs
var pitch: Int = 0, // middle C = 60
var velocity: Int = 0, // amplitude corresponds to MIDI velocity
var duration: Int = 0,
var panposition: Int = 0
)

I need to construct a two-dimensional data structure that has two different types: one, an Int, so that I can access the musical track as 0, 1 etc. – and the other, a mutable list of notes as shown above.

Conceptually, the is would be: Array[Int][Note]

Clearly an Array.ofDim doesn’t work as the types are different and I’ve feel like I’m groping in the dark with ListBuffers, tuples, etc. Any suggestion as to how to do this would be most welcome.

Thanks.

Don

Can you use something along the lines of

val myNotes: List[List[Note]]

Can you use Map[Int, ListBuffer[Note]] perhaps?

-dave-

If you just want something indexed by integers, use Array[Array[Note]] where the Array[Note] is the track, and the other array holds the tracks in order. (You could also use Vector or ArrayBuffer instead of Array, depending on what features you want the collection to have. ArrayBuffer would be the best choice for something that can be appended to; Vector is good if you want it immutable entirely; Array allows you to change the elements but not the length.)

If for some reason the indexing might be sparse, you can as Dave suggested, use a Map[Int, Array[Note]]. (Where again, Array should perhaps be an ArrayBuffer or something else.)

The statement

var myNoteBuffer = Map[Int, ListBuffer[Note]]

produces:

error: missing argument list for method apply in class GenMapFactory
Unapplied methods are only converted to functions when a function type is expected.