Wrapper around elements of Traversable, override foreach

Hi. I am new to scala and I would like to get to know that language. Now I am implementing a little program that should be able to dump table of contents. A TOC can be seen as a tree, therefore I start with:

case class Tree(name: String, children: List[Tree] = List()) extends Traversable[Tree] {
  override def foreach[U](f: Tree => U): Unit = {
    f(this)
    children.foreach(_.foreach(f))
  }

override def toString: String = name
}

Fine. I can initialize a TOC, e.g.

val t = Tree("Introduction", List(
    Tree("Technical Background"),
    Tree("Methods", List(
      Tree("One Method"),
      Tree("Another Method"),
      Tree("Yet another Method"),
      )),
    Tree("Results"),
    Tree("Conclusion")
  ))

… and simply dump it

t.foreach(println)

But here comes the tricky part: when printing, I would like to have automated numbering and indentation. This would not be much of a problem, but I would like to seperate a) the logic of counting and b) the final output format from my tree. So I implemented a simple Counter:

case class Counter(count: List[Int] = List(1), depth: Int = 0) {
  def down: Counter = copy(count = transformLastElement(count, last => last + 1))

def up: Counter = copy(count = transformLastElement(count, last => last - 1))

def in: Counter = copy(count = count :+ 1, depth = depth + 1)

def out: Counter = copy(count = count.dropRight(1), depth = depth - 1)

private def transformLastElement(list: List[Int], f: Int => Int): List[Int] = list match {
    case Nil => Nil
    case xs :+ x => xs :+ f(x)
  }
}

and some Formatter objects:

object SimpleFormatter extends Formatter {
  def format(counter: Counter): String = f"${indent(counter)}${concatCount(counter)}"
}

object VerboseFormatter extends Formatter {
  override def format(counter: Counter): String = counter.count match {
    case _ :: Nil => f"${indent(counter)}Chapter ${concatCount(counter)}"