Who is winning the build war with Scala So Far?

I have been studying Scala in my free time for going on 2 years now; whenever I can squeeze in the time to do so. So far, I have only used:

1. Repl
  2. Maven
  3. ScalaEclipse
  4. That WorkSheet Thing for maybe my first couple of weeks.

Yet, whenever I visit most Scala forums or hear about using Scala with Intellij , I keep hearing about SBT. Am I the only person learning Scala that uses Maven and Eclipse?

JetBrains has posted fresh survey results, but it’s not clear to me if the answers apply to only Scala projects or also to Java ones: https://www.jetbrains.com/research/devecosystem-2018/scala/

2 Likes

interesting. SBT wins out by 50 percent over Maven. I wonder which one is growing or declining faster. I would suspect that maven is growing faster in Scala Usage than SBT as more and more java developers start learning the language since they are already familiar with maven. Even in the world of java, when it comes to Maven versus Gradle, maven always wins out because of the larger population of developers that are using it. Part of the problem that SBT will run into but to a lesser degree is the same problem that Gradle ran into: Using a programming language as the build tool. That is just my guess, though.

I don’t see how using Scala in build definitions is problematic for Scala developers. If you’re using Gradle to build Java projects then you essentialy have to learn new language - Groovy. That’s not the case with SBT - Scala is used both for production code and for build definition. Problem with SBT is different than using Scala as a foundation - it’s rather cryptic syntax, unintuitive execution flow and general slowness. Li Hayoi attempts to fix that problems by building his own build tool for Scala: https://github.com/lihaoyi/mill Mill is rapidly gaining popularity in Scala world so it’s even harder to guess which tool will prevail in future.

3 Likes