Nested implicit classes

Hey,

I am a beginner to scala and I stumbled on implicit classes today. When reading about them, I realized I could finally write code like

if (x between 1 and 10) ...

This is my approach:

object Helpers
{
  implicit class IntAnd(left: Int)
  {
    def and(right: Int): (Int, Int) = (left, right)
  }

implicit class IntBetween(value: Int)
  {
    def between(range: (Int, Int)): Boolean = value >= range._1 && value <= range._2
  }
}

Two problems here:

1. This way forces me to use unwanted brackets in my code; namely, I need to write 5 between (1 and 10). Is there a way to get rid of these brackets?

2. This way allows between to accept any tuple of (Int, Int). Is there a way to force between to accept the and function only (not just any tuple)?

Thanks, Simon

Offhand, you could do this by changing the signature of between. Instead of taking a range and returning a Boolean, have that return a new class, which has and as a function on that, and have and do the actual calculation.

In other words, something like:

object Helpers
{
  class Betweener(value: Int, start: Int) {
    def and(end: Int): Boolean = value >= start && value <= end
  }

implicit class IntBetween(value: Int)
  {
    def between(start: Int) = new Betweener(value, start)
  }
}

Yeah, that works. There might be other options…

1 Like

There is also syntactic sugar a -> b for a pair, so you can write

implicit class IntBetween(value: Int)  {
      def between(range: (Int, Int)): Boolean = value >= range._1 && value <= range._2
    } 

3 between 1 -> 10 // true

regards,
Siddhartha

1 Like

Scala also has a built in Range class that is similar to what you’re trying to do (but not exactly the same).

https://docs.scala-lang.org/overviews/collections/concrete-immutable-collection-classes.html#ranges

scala> (1 to 10) contains 0
res0: Boolean = false

scala> (1 to 10) contains 1
res1: Boolean = true

scala> (1 to 10) contains 5
res2: Boolean = true