Learning functional programming in scala

I have no experience in functional programming.

My background -
Python - Experienced.
Java - Contributed to small projects.
C - Small programs.
Scala - Refactored code written in Scala in the OOP style into Java code. Contributed to small projects.

I want to give priority to learning functional programming over learning scala.

Resources I have tried and rejected -
Programming in Scala - Not really looking for a syntax book.
Martin Odersky coursera course - Not as detailed as I would like it to be.
Both of the above do not go into functional programming in too much detail.

Learning path I have been suggested -
Functional Programming in Scala (Red book) - Till Chapter 4
Functional Programming for Mortals
Functional Programming in Scala - The rest of the book

Thoughts?

3 Likes

I would also suggest doing the Scala 99 problems: http://aperiodic.net/phil/scala/s-99/

Brian Maso

2 Likes

I co-lectured a course on FP based on the Red Book (Part 1-3) last summer term, the students mostly also had some Java experience but no FP experience. From that we learned two things, that you may keep in mind while reading:

• The red book really relies on you doing all the exercises. Some things referenced in later chapters is only explained in the solutions, which are not in the book, just in the repo. So these are mandatory.
  • The chapter on “Purely Functional State” (1.6) was really confusing to our students. We plan to move this to the end next time, after explaining the theoretical background on monads. The further chapters may reference it, but mostly in comparisons that also apply to the chapters before (List/Option/Either), so you should be able to skip and revisit later, if there are understanding problems.