Immutable, huge and nested objects

Hi there,

let’s assume I would like to parse a huge YAML (JSON, XML, whatever) file being nested deeply. Let’s not discuss what ‘huge’ and ‘deeply’ means; my question is more general: should I design the data structure to be immutable? The parsed YAML file lives in memory throughout the time the program runs and values at any level might be changed while the program runs. Eventually, changes are stored to disk. To my understanding, immutability is highly preferred over mutable objects and I definitely understand why. But considering my YAML file, immutability would mean that every change in that data structure would cause the object to be copied completely (with that one single value changed). This seems to be much overhead to me. What would you suggest to do in this case? I am new to Scala and I am eager to learn to use the language as it is intended to be used. Therefore I would prefer to stick to the immutable variant but copying large data structures everytime single values change seems to be a high price for immutability. Should I be willing to pay that price or am I missing some concept that allows “cheaper” immutability here?

Thanks, Simon

2 Likes

This is a common misunderstanding. If done correctly, making a change usually means N copies, where N is the depth of the change in your data structure, rather than copying the entire data structure. It’s typically not more than half a dozen modest allocations, usually less.

The thing is, you generally only do “shallow” copies at each level. So if one part of the structure has 20 fields under it, and you are changing 1 field, you reuse the other 19 in the new copy. (Since it is all immutable, this sort of reuse is safe, which it wouldn’t be in a mutable data structure.)