Case classes with default parameters that depend on other parameters

Hi there,

I am completely new to scala. I am fascinated by the concept of case classes. To my understanding, it allows me to write POJOs in a single line. I could basically rewrite the following Java code:

class Person
{
    private String firstname;
    private String lastname;
    private String email;

public Person(String firstname, String lastname, String email)
    {
        this.firstname = firstname;
        this.lastname = lastname;
        this.email = email;
    }

// getters and setters
}

into something beautiful:

case class Person(val firstname: String, val lastname: String, val email: String);

However, let’s assume another constructor that automatically sets the value of email:

public Person(String firstname, String lastname)
{
    this(firstname, lastname, String.format("%s@%s.com", firstname, lastname);
}

What is the scala way of extending the case class by the given constructor. I know that I could just stick to Java code in scala but I don’t want to violate the beauty of scala :wink:
Any ideas how to solve that?

thanks, Simon

Something like this:

case class Person(val first: String, val last: String, val email: String)

object Person {
  def apply(first: String, last: String): Person = this(first, last, s"${first}@${last}.com")
}

object Test {
  def main(args: Array[String]): Unit = {
    val p = Person("Fist", "Last")
    println(p)
  }
}

Looks interesting. But: are you creating two classes with the same name here? First, a “case class” and second, a (singleton) “object” class? I like the way you use apply here, but is there a way to somehow put both constructors in a “single class”?

Object there is not another class, but a companion object. As explained here, “An analog to a companion object in Java is having a class with static methods. In Scala you would move the static methods to a Companion object.”