Akka and nested Futures

I am new to scala. I am currently playing around with mongodb, akka and futures. I am trying to implement the following scenario:

there is one actor acting as a database client.
After registering the actor to the actor system, I invoke something like

dbclient ? FindAllUsers

the clients receive method looks like this

override def receive: Receive = {
  case FindAllUsers => sender ! AllUsers(users.findAll)
}

where users is an Object that looks like this:

class UserRepository(collection: MongoCollection[Document])(implicit ec: ExecutionContext)
{
  def findAll: Future[Seq[String]] =
    collection
      .find()
      .projection(fields(excludeId(), include("name")))
      .map(doc => doc("name").asString.getValue)
      .toFuture()
}

so, to my understanding, what is finally returned to dbclient ? FindAllUsers is of type Future[AllUsers(Future[Seq[String]])]. In order to print my users, I now do

implicit val ec = system.dispatcher
implicit val timeout = Timeout(1.second)
val response = dbclient ? FindAllUsers

response onComplete {
  case Success(AllUsers(users)) => users onComplete {
    case Success(listOfUserNames: Seq[String]) => listOfUserNames foreach println
    case _ =>
  }
  case _ =>
}

Well, this works. But reading my response is a little bit too nested for my taste. Is there anything I don’t see here? Any way I could reduce complexity?

In general, I’d strongly recommend against sending a Future in an Akka message. It will work so long as your system is small enough to fit onto a single node – but the whole point of Akka is to write larger-scale systems that work across a cluster. And I suspect that that Future will crash and burn when you try to send it across the network. (I haven’t tried it, but it doesn’t seem likely to work.) Messages should usually just contain plain old data.

So I’d recommend instead resolving the Future inside of the Actor, and sending the result as the response.